Apply for the ENCALS Young Investigator Award 2020

6 February 2020

The ENCALS Award Committee would like to invite applicants to the 2020 ENCALS Young Investigator Award.


The competition is open to researchers aged 35 or younger on 1 September 2020, or who will be within 8 years of having been awarded their PhD if a basic scientist, or still in training (Resident or Fellow) if a medical graduate. To allow for career breaks, if there has been a career gap for any reason, those years are not counted and the age and time limitations can be adjusted accordingly. The work presented by the applicant must relate to work at a university or ALS Centre in Europe, Turkey or Israel. Applicants should be registered for the ENCALS meeting in Tours and should also have submitted an abstract for the meeting.


The ENCALS Young Investigators Award was designed to recognise the brightest and best young scientists in ALS, and is given for outstanding research. Criteria include any or all of novelty, challenge to existing ideas about ALS, results with patient benefit, and impact on our understanding of ALS.

The awardee will be asked to give a presentation of their work at the ENCALS meeting in Edinburgh, Scotland.

Application procedure

To apply, please submit in one pdf file:

  1. a one page structured abstract of your work also detailing your role in the research projects described,
  2. a letter of support from your supervisor, and
  3. your CV (max 3 pages).

Please send this pdf file to the ENCALS office ( and copy Ammar Al-Chalabi (, chair of the ENCALS Award Committee. Furthermore, please don’t forget to submit your abstract for the ENCALS meeting in Tours before March 20th at

Deadline for award submissions is 1700 GMT on April 20th, 2020.

All applications will be reviewed by the ENCALS Award Committee.

Award Committee

Entries are judged by a panel on the basis of impact on the field of ALS. The award committee consists of:

  • Ammar Al-Chalabi, Chair (England)
  • Markus Weber (Switzerland)
  • Susanne Petri (Germany)
  • Ludo van den Bosch (Belgium)
  • Luc Dupuis (France)
  • Magdalena Kuzma (Poland)